Visit Our YouTube Page Follow Us on Facebook
Wyoming.gov | Citizen | Business | Government | Visitor
Wyoming Game and Fish Header Image
HOME >> EDUCATION >> HUNTER EDUCATION >> HUNTER EDUCATION ONLINE
Hunter Education Online
A Traditional Hunter Education Class or Online Hunter Education Course - Which is Best for You?

In addition to the traditional hunter education classes being offered in communities throughout the state, a Wyoming specific online hunter education course is available for those looking to obtain their hunter education certification. A traditional HE class averages 15 hours of classroom time while the online course time frame varies greatly depending on how long a student needs to complete all lessons and the required internet field day (IFD).

The Wyoming online hunter education course was developed for the more mature student who may have scheduling problems that makes getting into a traditional class difficult. Due to the independent nature of the online course, younger students without guidance from an experienced HE instructor often have difficulty with the required entrance exam at internet field days.

Students with little or no gun handling experience may struggle with the firearms handling proficiency field test. IFDs are designed as a venue for students to demonstrate their firearm handling skills and lessons learned via the online HE course. In such cases where IFDs do not best meet student’s needs, registering for a traditional course is recommended.

arrow Hunter Education Information

arrow Hunter Education Registration

Requirements Prior to Attendance at an Internet Field Day

The Wyoming online HE course must be completed with an entrance voucher printed prior to being admitted to an IFD. The only accepted Wyoming online HE course, can be found at www.hunter-ed.com/wyoming/. All lessons for the Wyoming online course are completed via our sole vendor whereby a voucher may be generated upon course completion. The online vendor will charge $19.50 from each student to cover administrative costs and must be paid to generate the voucher. By state statute, the WGFD does not collect any fee for hunter education classes.

Registration for all WGFD sanctioned IFDs is to be completed prior to a student attending the IFD and should be completed just prior to completing the final lesson. These entrance vouchers have a six month (180 day) expiration date from the date the online course is completed. Current listings for IFDs are updated weekly and are conducted each month at various locations around the state.

arrow Hunter Education Course Schedule

Requirements During an Internet Field Day

Upon arrival, students confirm registration with the IFD assessor and present an IFD entrance voucher where an entrance exam will be administered. A minimum score of 90% is needed on this exam to be allowed to participate in the IFD assessments and final HE testing. Students receiving less that 90% on this entrance exam will not be allowed to participate in the IFD.

IFD assessors may charge up to $10 to defray out of pocket expenses used to cover IFD supplies.

When IFDs are full, occasionally pre-registered students do not show up at which time, walk-in students may be allowed admittance. Walk-in students must provide or generate a unique sportsman’s identification number (SPID) as part of the walk-in registration process. Students can generate a SPID via a smart phone or at a computer after the class notifying the IFD assessor with SPID later during the day of the IFD. Students may also provide the last four digits of the student’s social security number to the IFD assessor and the WGFD-HE office will generate a SPID. The SPID number is a permanent registry and will be listed on their Hunter Education Card.

During the IFD, the assessor will review specific wildlife laws and regulations and hunter ethics activities. The assessor will measure the student’s firearm handling skills either through inert firearms or through live fire.

Finally at the IFD, the final HE exam will be administered and students will need to pass with a score of 70% or better. The IFD assessor will sign a temporary certificate of completion and give to successful students. These are a valid form of HE certification for two weeks. Students will be able to print their permanent HE card directly from the WGFD website two weeks after successfully completing all IFD requirements.

arrow Print Hunter Safety Card

Review of Steps to Complete the Wyoming Online HE Course
and the Accompanying IFD

1. Read all Wyoming hunter education and online HE requirements on the WGFD web site.
2. Go to www.hunter-ed.com/wyoming and complete all lessons and tests.
3. After successfully completing the online course students will be directed to pay $19.50 (to the online course vendor ) to print an IFD entrance voucher.
4. Check the WGFD – Internet Field Day (IFD) course listing.
5. Register for an IFD on the HE course listing page, attend the IFD on this date and time.
6. Present voucher to field day assessor, pass entrance exam, engage in review lessons, assessment activities and final exam.
7. Receive a WY HE temporary certificate of completion, which is valid for two weeks.
8. After two weeks, print a permanent HE certification card on the WGFD web site.

HOME | WILDLIFE AGENCIES | PRIVACY POLICY | SEARCH THE STATE OF WYOMING

Wyoming Game & Fish Department Headquarters
5400 Bishop Blvd. Cheyenne, WY 82006
ph: (307) 777-4600
Email address for comments/questions regarding our website: wgfdwebmaster@wyo.gov

Copyright ©2013